Meal Menu Monday

Hi everyone! here is this weeks meal menu for the week. This is such a great help to me to keep motivated and on track with not only making sure to prepare healthy meals for my husband but also to not fall into a lazy cycle of packaged foods or worse having to leave what to eat up to him from day to day.

Now I say this not as a shame to Sweets or that he is lazy, sexist or overly traditional in his view of roles in the family. No this is my joy! I am so happy to have a husband and I just want to take care of him, make his life easier and be a blessing to him in any way that I can.  I always want him to be able to say “my life has greatly improved since I married Bree”. We both work full time, we both have busy schedules, and because of that I have  to intend acts of service for my husband other wise, we are liable to carry on as previously, just taking care of ourselves from day to day….only in the same apartment.  This is not my dream.

In addition to just cooking though, sweets is working very hard to get in shape and lose weight. (Those who know anything about me know that I MUCH PREFER chunky men) It is true. I like slightly heavy men. BUT Sweets is very unhappy with his weight right now and as a supportive wife I need to help him to reach his goals. I cant be cooking him meals that will counter all the work he does at the gym and the running he does everyday. I have to do a lot of research to know how much he is lifting to see how much protein is recommended and I also have to be mindful to not serve hardly any (or very little) carbs at dinner but to pack in his carbs in the morning or at lunch, this way he has all day to burn them off.

This weeks Menu:

Monday Lunch: Peanut butter sandwich on whole wheat, and yogurt with pineapple and carrots in the blender, granola bar.

Dinner: Chicken and mixed salad with red and yellow peppers and avocado

Tuesday Lunch: Vegetable curry and rice raw cut veggies, cut fruit and mixed walnuts, almonds and raisins.

Dinner: Salmon baked with dill and lemon slices and olive oil, spinach, steamed carrots

Wednesday Lunch: Eating out

Dinner: on our own

Thursday Lunch: vegetable soup, ham sandwich on wheat, cut pear and tangerines, granola bar

Dinner: Fiesta skillet ( a variation of this with 1/2 the pasta noodles double the salsa), mixed salad with raisins, apples and raspberry vinaigrette

Friday: Lunch: Leftover fiesta, soy beans, granola, cut pineapple and tangerine

Dinner: Shephards pie, steamed mix vegetables

Saturday Lunch: homemade pizza with red and yellow peppers and mushrooms, salad

Dinner: Chilli party with friends. French bread and veggie with dip

Sunday: No cooking day!

Happy Eating!

Leave a Reply

