Every Morning is Christmas Morning!

Sweets has encouraged me to Journal/ record my thoughts and feelings at this early stage in our union so that in later years if I ever need to, I can look back and remember what we are doing this all for and how it all started.

I have been struggling to sleep next to him still. Just not used to another body in the bed! Its taking longer than I thought it would to get used to and this is something I had not heard before! I assumed that I would just LOVE sleeping next to him so much that I would instantly fall into blissful sleep. Not so! He breathes and makes noises, sometimes he moves even! and I don’t know if this is normal and just something I never was told before/came across in all my readings – but guys (well my guy anyhow!) also have their own smell.

No, really! He has his very own scent. I am not sure what it is, but its 100% natural and it’s not a BO smell or anything like that. It’s not even bad or odour-y but it’s there, and its noticeable when I climb into bed and try to sleep. I am just not used to it yet. I know in time I wont even notice it but until then…I lay awake smelling him over and over again. I can’t get enough! I enjoy it! It’s just another thing that tells me BREE YOU ARE MARRIED!!! ha-ha It makes me so happy ( even though I am tired all day). I wonder if other people experienced this their first days together?

These days I wake up early, around 5:30 has been the trend. I get up real quiet and tip-toe around the apartment (our apartment here in Japan has NO DOORS! that means our bedroom is right open to the kitchen and living-dining room) Sweets sleeping is about 5 footsteps away from the kitchen table and I try my best to be real quiet, drink a cup of tea, pray and read for a while, it’s very lovely!

But then at about 7am or so I get anxious. I want to talk to him!! I just can’t wait till he wakes up! It feels like when I was a kid on Christmas morning. In our house we couldn’t wake my parents until 7am so until then it was just waiting and waiting excited and anxious and getting more impatient minute by minute!

Usually sweets wakes up between 7 and 8am so it’s very exciting!! As soon as he says good morning its like I just opened my Christmas present! I jump on the bed to kiss him and we spend a good time talking about our sleep, our dreams we remember and the plan for the day. It’s so nice!!! I am just so content and enjoying our time together. It makes the day feel BEAUTIFUL no matter what and it so far has been the best way for me to start my day!!!

I am sure in time, I will get used to him and everything wont be so amazing or keep me awestruck. I mourn that day 😦

But isn’t that the special thing about marriage? Where we can be in awe and amazed at what God has done in our lives if we just take the time to look and appreciate the person God designed for us and us for them? I hope so and I plan to! I am making it my own goal to continue to appreciate and enjoy every minute while I can. This is the good advice I am choosing to take. And it’s not too late, no matter how long you or anyone has been married I think choosing this way can breathe new life into an established and comfortable union as well.  Let us all live like every morning is Christmas morning! How fulfilling marriage should be!

4 thoughts on “Every Morning is Christmas Morning!

  1. What a gift from God to read your words this morning!! Your message served as a reminder to me of my early days of marriage and just overall to keep that sense of awe fresh and alive in all aspects of our life. It isn’t always easy, especially when exhaustion wants to seep in, and that’s when it’s important to place God first and allow him to let us feel that awe again.
    I also smile at your words because there are lots of moments still when I am very aware and happy of my husband’s scent and am so happy to have him to snuggle throughout the night and wake up to in the mornings. It’s an extraordinary feeling!

  2. Reblogged this on Purse Meets Diaper Bag and commented:
    I absolutely loved this post and had to share. i have been following Bree’s journey for some time and now she is recently married. Her words were such a gift from God to read this morning (my exact words to her). I also told Bree how her message served as a reminder to me of my early days of marriage and how important it is to not let that feeling of awe go dormant, overall to keep that sense of awe fresh and alive in all aspects of our life. It isn’t always easy, especially when exhaustion wants to seep in, and that’s when it’s important to place God first and allow him to let us feel that awe again.
    Her sweet post reminded me of lots of my own moments I continue to have when I am very aware, such as being able to understand when she talks about her guy having his very own scent, and how it made me smile when I stopped and thought of my own husband’s scent and the small movements and gestures he makes at random times of the day and how happy I have felt to have him to snuggle throughout the night and wake up to in the mornings. Or the sweet feeling I get when I see him resting peacefully, engrossed in a book, or that feeling of pure happiness when he’s holding my hand. It’s an extraordinary feeling to know you’ve had when you are aware and allowing yourself to be in awe!

Leave a Reply

