God is a Matchmaker lesson 1

God is a Matchmaker

I read this book over the summer before sweets and I started spending time together. I sincerely think it may have been the reason I was ready for him when the opportunity presented itself…..again! Up until I read this book I was still closed to what God may have had in mind and simply kept to my own vision and plans.

After reading this book my whole thoughts on marriage began to change.  I started to pray for Gods will instead and asked Him to open me up to His plan. Once I prayed that, with my whole heart in sincerity, God answered that very prayer and I saw sweets as a totally different man standing before me.

The seven basic principles that Derek Prince describes in his book: (my notes are in green)

1. God initiated marriage at the beginning – not Adam and Eve Note that God was the one who said a suitable helper for Adam could not be found (Genesis 2:20)

2. Decision to marry is from God not man God was the one who caused the deep sleep to fall upon Adam. (Genesis 2:21)

3. God knew the kind of helper man needed – not man God knew a beast was not the best helper for Adam but one made bone of his bones and flesh of his flesh. (Genesis 2:23)

4. God prepared the woman for the man God took the rib from Adam and made he woman. (Genesis 2:21) A woman’s time  as a single should be spent preparing for Godliness and marriage, not searching, worrying or moping around.

5. God presented the woman to the man and brought her unto the man. (Genesis 2:22) God set the whole thing up. He prepared the woman, and when she was ready God Himself placed her in the right place at the right time for the two of them to meet. When Adam looked at Gods choice all he could say was “Wow man!” He was pleased!

6. God ordained the purpose of their life  – which is unity and they shall be one flesh (Genesis 2:24) God had a purpose in uniting Adam and Eve. He has a purpose still in all He does. God is not bored and He is not wasteful of anything or anyone. He will always have a purpose in the things He does. God will still have a purpose in the marriages of today.

7. Jesus upheld God’s original plan for marriage as binding on all those who follow him.  It is still enforced today. Jesus reminds them that Gods Word in Genesis is still the marriage standard to live by. (Matthew 19:4-6) God has not changed His mind! He still has this ideal in mind to unite and join together into one Flesh. For earth to represent the heavenly union between Christ and His bride. (Ephesians 5:32)

Once I began to understand this and meditate on the Gods words in regards to the creation of man and woman; I clearly could see that my reasons for wanting to marry had nothing to do with what would Glorify the Lord the most, but only what I wanted and what I thought I needed to be happy.

I was running around trying to find my mate instead of allowing God to both prepare me and present me to the one who is in need of my help.

I believe this is why so much of the time we can see couples marrying mates that hold strengths where their mate holds weakness. God is all about balance and unity.

When Paul talks about being yoked it paints the picture of working together with a common goal or purpose. That helps me understand how I am to work with my husband for the common goal and purpose that the Lord has for us to do while we are here. (Ephesians 2:10)

*For more thoughts on Ephesians 2:10*

God is a Matchmaker lesson 2

Leave a Reply

