A not-so-Love-Story (Part 1)

He found me. I will always say it that way. For a number of reasons this is fitting. For starters the bible is packed full of verses referring to a man “finding a good wife” ect.. So on the surface it’s how God writes it anyhow. But for me its much more than that. I was lost. (Not physically!) but I was lost in love and relationships. I was wandering around hopeless and aimless. He found me.

Also when we met.. I was definitely not looking for him…the story isn’t nearly as amusing without the background, but basically I moved to Japan a few years ago, fell in love with the country, and my new life here and I was looking for love to tack on to that. I wanted my current life +1.
But being in Japan and wanting to stay here…indefinitely I was looking for J-Love! I planned to marry a Japanese guy, get my permanent visa, and have little half-J babies! It was a great dream!

March 27th 2012 Sweets and I met at a friends b-day party. I saw him when my friend and I walked in. He had a handsome face, I noticed it. But I was NOT thinking past that. I should get Sheila on here to tell the story… she saw it all and I was totally oblivious to it.

Anyhow, I was talking to other people – he was listening. A few minutes later he suddenly interrupted the conversation to confirm if I was a Christian. I said I was and he started to chat with me a bit. Basic stuff. I didn’t even notice really.  He told me about teaching at the Christian school and I was interested to hear about THE STUDENTS! haha but needless to say at the end of the day he asked me for a date and my number.

I was NOT wanting to give it to him. This was like a detour for me, a waste of both our time, after all I was going to be marrying a J-boy and so why on earth would I need to give my number or have dinner with a white boy?!

Sheila made me give my number. She did. I was trapped between his request and her jabbing me and glaring at me.

We had our dinner date April 1st 2010. It was TERRIBLE! No Joke. (At least for me).

To begin he brought me to a Japanese restaurant. (I don’t eat that much Japanese food) Our conversation was bland and forced. After dinner we went for a coffee and though that was maybe the “nicest” part, when the night was getting to an end he quickly said good-bye and practically ran across the street as fast as he could.

Of course that was the beginning and the end. I never intended to hear from him again, and if I did I never intended to be free because clearly that was the worst date I should ever have to endure, and I would be silly to want to do that again!

He never called. No big shocker.

January 2011…..

We met again, with the same mutual friends it was bound to happen. We chatted briefly. He said “we should meet up sometime” I said “been there done that”.

September 2011….I started Japanese school. Sweets was there! “Oh geesh!” I thought, and then we would chat between classes and have short conversations. I was in a “relationship” with a nice J-boy so I definitely was NOT even considering him as a possibility. (J-boy and I ended this same month)

November 2011 we went to dinner with some classmates. It was fun but …. he’s American! I started praying more diligently for the right Christian J-boy.

December 2011 He sent me a Christmas card from America. It made me confused but smile. I tossed it out around the end of January but apparently I changed my mind as I still have it! I do remember vaguely having this “just in case thought” but I kept my prayers on my J-plan and didn’t give God any other option at that point.

January 1st 2012 we spent new years day together. Had lunch and went to karaoke it was tons of fun!! That night at church I wrote my new years prayers and thanks to God for an awesome year (we write them every new yrs’ Sunday and then read them the following year to see what God has done in our lives and the prayers we were expecting for the year ect..) I wrote mine, then put it in the box…then took it out and wrote a small little side note add-on to it documenting that Sweets and I had hung out that day and I wanted to document it “just in case”.

June 2012: I never heard from him again after that until June 2012. He asked me to meet him for dinner and I did, it was so nice! The next week he asked me to….. Ok here it is the BIG test….

a not-so-Love-Story Part 2

Leave a Reply

